THEATRE FOR A NEW AUDIENCE



ALLE SPEERCE ALUKELLA MAY 12, 2025

Celebrating Shakespeare's Birthday

Cipriani 25 Broadway, New York City

6:30 PM Cocktails/Silent Auction 7:30 PM Dinner/Program

Gala Co-Chairs: Kathleen C. Walsh • Larry M. Loeb

Lead Sponsor: **Deloitte**.



Photo by John T. Consoli/University of Maryland

Celebrating the 45-year tenure and legacy of Theatre for a New Audience Founding Artistic Director

Jeffrey Horowitz

And the fourteenth presentation of the *Life in Art* Award to internationally recognized arts management leader and author

Michael M. Kaiser

Chairman of the DeVos Institute of Arts and Nonprofit Management and President Emeritus of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.

Since 1979, Theatre for a New Audience has produced Shakespeare and other classics alongside exciting contemporary works.

Gala Quick Facts:

- Theatre for a New Audience's elegant and entertaining Gala is attended by more than 350 of New York's leading arts patrons and has been hosted by eminent theatre artists such as LisaGay Hamilton, Jessica Hecht, Harry Lennix, Alfred Molina, Kristine Nielsen, and Maggie Siff.
- The Gala includes a cocktail reception, seated dinner, auction, and awards program.
- In lieu of presenting the Samuel H. Scripps Samuel H. Scripps Award for Extraordinary Artistic Achievement this year, this year's Gala will honor **Founding Artistic Director Jeffrey Horowitz** (2022 Scripps Award honoree), celebrating the achievements of his 45-year tenure as he completes his final season before his retirement.
- Previous recipients of the Samuel H. Scripps Award for Extraordinary Artistic Achievement include F. Murray Abraham, Arin Arbus, Michael Boyd, Christian Camargo, Robert A. Caro Elliot Goldenthal, Kathryn Hunter, Jeffrey Horowitz, Harry Lennix, Marie Maignan, Mark Rylance, Wallace Shawn, Bartlett Sher, Julie Taymor, Ayanna Thompson, John Douglas Thompson, John Turturro, and Robert Woodruff.
- The Life in Art award will be presented to internationally recognized arts management leader and author, Michael M. Kaiser, Chairman of the DeVos Institute of Arts and Nonprofit Management and President Emeritus of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. Past recipients include Elayne Bernstein and Sol Schwartz, Sally Brody, Terry Christensen, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP, Richard E. Feldman, Barbara G. Fleischman, Audrey Heffernan Meyer, Leonard Polonsky and Georgette Bennett, Amanda Riegel, Theodore C. Rogers, Barry Salzberg and Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Ltd., Anne Tatlock, and Leonard Tow and The Tow Foundation.
- Co-Sponsorship packages and corporate promotion opportunities are available. Tables range from \$20,000-\$45,000 for Corporate Sponsors. Ticket prices are \$3,000 and \$2,000. Tribute Ads can be purchased for \$3,000.

About Theatre for a New Audience:

- Produces three to five major productions each season that serve an average of 40,000 audience members each year.
- Has received numerous awards and nominations for its acclaimed productions, including the Obie, Drama Desk, Drama League, Lucille Lortel, Audelco, Outer Critics Circle and Tony.
- Runs the largest, in-depth program in the NYC Public Schools to introduce Shakespeare and the classics, serving more than 140,000 students and teachers since 1984.
- Is the first American company to perform Shakespeare at the Royal Shakespeare Company in Stratford-upon-Avon.
- After more than 30 years as an itinerant company, in 2013 the Theatre opened Polonsky Shakespeare Center in the Brooklyn Cultural District, where it has served an audience of nearly 300,000.

Theatre for a New Audience is a 501(c)(3) charitable organization. All gifts are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law. For more information, visit our website at https://tfana.org/support-us/events-annual-gala or contact Gavin McKenzie at gmckenzie@tfana.org or gala@tfana.org, or call 646-553-3890.







2024 Honorees Leonard Tow and Robert A. Caro

TFANA 2024 Gala at Cipriani 25 Broadway